REGULATORY AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

1 DECEMBER 2021

PRESENT:

Councillors B Yeates (Chair), Checkland (Vice-Chair), Anketell, Baker, Barnett, Cross, Eagland and L Ennis

13 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were apologies from Cllr Diane Evans, Cllr Paul Ray, Cllr David Salter and Cllr Mark Warfield

14 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest received

15 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting held 27 September 2021 were approved as read

16 WORK PROGRAMME

The Committee noted the current contents of the Work Programme

17 FOOD SAFETY SERVICE DELIVERY PLAN 2021-2024

The Head of Regulatory Services, Housing & Wellbeing presented the Food Safety Service Delivery Plan 2021-2024 to the committee. It was highlighted that although resources are tight, this remains a national issue with staff having been diverted to deal with work postponed by the Covid-19 pandemic. Funds have been provided from Staffordshire County Council and Central Government to manage the workload involved and secure additional staff.

It was noted that advice and guidance has been provided by the authority to local businesses to maintain safe standards throughout the pandemic, in order to aid with rapidly changing business models. As was the case before the pandemic, officers are once again returning to premises to conduct on-site inspections, prioritising the highest risk premises first.

Members thanked food safety inspection officers for their excellent work, following a recent inspection visit witnessed by a committee member. Members also thanked the Food and Health & Safety Manager and the Committee Clerk for providing information on how the plan is applied with regards to local village halls.

RESOLVED: That the committee approve the Food Safety Service Delivery Plan 2021-2024 to be received by the Cabinet Member for Regulatory, Housing and Health.

(The Meeting closed at 6.17 pm)

Following this meeting, the membership of the Committee was updated to reflect the appointment of Cllr E. Little on 12 October 2021. Attendance will be effective from the next meeting, scheduled on 24 February 2022.

CHAIR

